A Travelling Wendy

Tonight I will be travelling down to Bangkok to pick up EVEN more volunteers and I thought it would be a fun idea if I were to make a sort of video diaryish, montage sort of thing of the whole weekend that volunteers have when they arrive in Thailand.

thailand_bangkok_silom__bang_rak

Home for the next 3 days 🙂

This means that I will be filming and taking photos from the very moment a volunteer meets us in the airport in Bangkok, to the travel to the hotel, the Bangkok Tour, dinner on Khao San Road and then the trip up to Surin. When I try and explain the whole journey to volunteers it sounds like a lot so I think having a series of photos and videos will make it miles easier and be a fun way for upcoming volunteers to have a glimpse of what they will be experiencing and might even inspire a few of my readers to sign themselves up for one of our life changing projects.

I also think that I will start to do intros of our volunteers as well, so whenever I go down to Bangkok I will introduce all of the volunteers we have and have a little but about them, which project they are doing and why they chose to do it 🙂 It is all well and good to hear me prattle on about how awesome our projects are but when it comes from the mouths of the volunteers it will be less biased and give so many other opinions and ideas that I might not have.

4548299837

Bangkok has such a wildly differing skyline depending on which way you look

It will also give me the opportunity to share the blogs of people who are travelling, blogging is such an amazing platform to keep people involved of what you are doing so if I can make a sort of mini Starfish Volunteers Blogging community I think that would be loads of fun!!

bangkok

Part of the Grand Palace

On top of that it will also mean that for people who don’t have the opportunity to travel to this beautiful country I call home, that they can see some of the most famous places to see in Bangkok as well as the difference in the landscape and the country as a whole as you travel around.

Khao_Yai_26-08-07_(41)

Going from the bustling streets of Bangkok to this, a waterfall in the beautiful Khao Yai National Park, is an incredible and astounding journey

Plus I have really grown to enjoy blogging and speaking to people about their travels and experiences and think that more people should read about these. So stay tuned for a picture book blog over the next few days of a Starfish Volunteers First Weekend in Thailand 😀

In the mean time, if you haven’t already, get yourself signed up to one of our projects on the Starfish Website and the Starfish – Volunteer Thailand Facebook page.

Then head on over to my own TwitterTumblr and Instagram pages, which I always update with everything I am up to, silly adventures and odd anecdotes about my day 😀

Build. Protect.Teach. Care. – The Starfish Motto

Instagram

One comment on “A Travelling Wendy

Leave a Reply

