A Weekend Wendy

Last week I posted on Thursday about how I was going to be going down to Bangkok to pick up new volunteers, well I did just that and took a few photos to show you what each volunteers first weekend will be like with Starfish Volunteers, and also what it involves for me.

For volunteers their time starts when they board the plane, for me it starts when I get my volunteer pick up emails and then my trip down to Bangkok. It was really strange to have to force myself to take pictures along the way as I am now so used to seeing the journey down to Bangkok. But I did make an effort and so this will be my picture essay about what the volunteers first weekend involves for me 😀

IMG_0697

Pre departure Goy Djab from Gois!!

IMG_0698

Beginnings of my 7 hour bus journey 😀

IMG_0703

Straight from the bus to a motorbike to get my first volunteers

IMG_0705

My most visited BTS Station; Phaya Thai

IMG_0706

This building always makes me think of sponge cake with jam layers 🙂

IMG_0707

IMG_0708

Trying not to fall asleep on the BTS

IMG_0709

The ever changing skyline out of Bangkok to the airport

IMG_0710

My second home at Suvarnbhumi Airport

IMG_0712

First volunteers backpacks

IMG_0713

IMG_0715

Taxi to the famous Khao San Road

IMG_0716

IMG_0721

On the way to Khao San

IMG_0722

IMG_0719

Went to buy train tickets but there wern’t any left!!

IMG_0718

Wonderfully helpful staff who helped with my train ticket fiasco

IMG_0724

Managed to get some bus tickets sorted!

IMG_0726

Waiting for another member of staff called Moon, to get some money to pick up the volunteers

IMG_0730

IMG_0733

Another motorbike journey

IMG_0735

Hello again Phaya Thai station!

IMG_0734

Even in Bangkok there is still jungle 🙂

IMG_0737

Met this cute boy on the BTS

IMG_0714

Suvarnabhumi Airport; again……………………….

IMG_0738

IMG_0742

Second trip down to the volunteer hotels

IMG_0743

So many stairs climbed this weekend!

IMG_0745

Finally get a chance to sit down and watch some AFL!

IMG_0750

Reminder notes for my volunteers

IMG_0752

A bit of Pokemon before bed I think

IMG_0751

I definitely don’t want to get out of bed this morning

IMG_0756

IMG_0757

Ate SO much breakfast!!

IMG_0776

On the way to the Grand Palace for the Bangkok Tour

IMG_0764

IMG_0758

IMG_0759

Enjoying the beautiful silk at the Queen Siriket Musem of Textiles

IMG_0772

IMG_0763

Enjoying some Pokemon whilst waiting for my volunteers

IMG_0765

The boat over to Wat Arun; this man is enjoying his paper

IMG_0769

IMG_0768

Turns out Wat Arun is having some gardening work done 🙂

images

imgres

Wat Pho is one of my favourite temples in Bangkok

IMG_0771

Got to drive up front with the Tuk Tuk driver; WIN

IMG_0770

On the way back to the hotel, and then BACK to the airport again!

IMG_0779

Oh hello stairs, why do I have to be on the third floor!

IMG_0781

IMG_0783

IMG_0784

IMG_0785

Crazy busy on the BTS today!!

IMG_0786

IMG_0790Realised the ceiling in the airport was pretty interesting 🙂

images

Driving back in the dark is always nice in Bangkok

IMG_0793

Finally on the bus back to Surin 🙂

IMG_0799

IMG_0794

IMG_0800

Finally back at home!!!!

IMG_0692

Playing even more Pokemon before bed 😀

So hopefully you guys liked this post, it is the first attempt at a picture essay; probably not a very good attempt but still…………. I tried right? 🙂 I didn’t want to take pictures of everything that volunteers see whilst on the tour as I think that that would give everything and wouldn’t leave anything for volunteers to experience on their own. Plus I also forgot to take a lot of photos that I had

If you want to know in better detail what you will be doing on the Bangkok tour or to book yourself onto a project then please take a look at the Starfish Website and the Starfish – Volunteer Thailand Facebook page.

Then head on over to my own TwitterTumblr and Instagram pages, which I always update with everything I am up to, silly adventures and odd anecdotes about my day 😀

Build. Protect.Teach. Care. – The Starfish Motto

Instagram

One comment on “A Weekend Wendy

Leave a Reply

